Allison Parrish Photo

Looking Through a New Lens

Nikon vs. Canon

Leave a comment

I know a lot of people are going to hate me for this and probably quite a few people will like me for it. But I just do not like Canon. I am a Nikon girl all the way. I have a Nikon D3000 and I love it! I have used a Canon Rebel a couple of times and something just didn’t sit right with me. I felt like I had more control of the manual settings on the Nikon than I did on the Canon. When using the Canon, I felt like the camera was still trying to control my manual focus (I do not like when inanimate objects try to control me..but does anyone?) and I have more freedom with the Nikon. I also felt like the Canon took longer to take the picture and to focus. This is my personal preference, but I like the way the focus ring feels on the Nikon. It’s a bit stiffer but to me the Canon felt like it was just going to slip back into being unfocused. And really, on the whole, there are too many buttons on the Canon and it confused me severely (although, to be fair, I am not very tech savvy with most things).

I could get into a lot of the technical things but that would take a lot of time and quite honestly, these people have made really good arguments for both sides but to me it sounds like the D3000 is better (okay so I may be biased). But, I have had this camera for the past 3 years and I have loved every single moment with it (except for that one time where the screen kept going out but that’s only because LED screens don’t like 15 degree weather and snow). This is a camera that I truly feel like I can use for many many years to come (that and I have to use it because I am kind of in debt to my parents because of it. I promise I will pay you guys back for it sometime!).

Leave a Reply

